Plata Lab Statement on Inclusivity:

We renounce racism and discrimination in all forms. Desiree values individuals’ contributions to our community, as well as our science and engineering. In the Plata Lab, all individuals are expected to treat others with respect and courtesy, irrespective of such factors as race, religion, sexual orientation, gender, disability, age, or national origin. Desiree seeks to cultivate an overall climate in which every person feels welcome, respected, and are able to develop to his/her/their full potential, thereby creating a community that can do the same.

Current Lab Members

Desiree Plata

Gilbert W. Winslow Career Development Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering

(Plata Bio & CV)
Rebecca Brenneis

Ph.D. Candidate

(Brenneis CV)
Yunpo Li

Ph.D. Candidate

(Li CV)
Nicolette Anna Bugher

Ph.D. Candidate

Kristen Anna Riedinger

Ph.D. Candidate

(Riedinger CV)
Omar Tantawi

Ph.D. Candidate

(Tantawi CV)
Barathkumar Baskaran

Ph.D. Candidate

Elijah Martin

Ph.D. Student

(Martin CV)
Marc Foster

Ph.D. Student

Audrey Parker

Ph.D. Student

Joseph Wasswa


(Wasswa CV)
Eliane Ballmer

Visiting Student

Glen Andrew de Vera

Research Scientist

(de Vera CV)
Joules Provenzano

Ph.D. Candidate

Leaders for Global Operations Students

Mariko Ogawa

Undergrad Researchers

Chantaly Villalona
Runako I Gentles
Lai Wa Chu


Andrew Sumner, Ph.D

AAAS S&TP Fellow, US Dept. of Energy - Advanced Manufacturing Office

Michael Giannetto, Ph.D

Projects Manager at Fedcap Group

Brian Drollette, Ph.D

Senior Scientist at Exponent, Inc.

Osman Karatum, Ph.D

Assistant Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Florida Gulf Coast University

Megan O’Connor, Ph.D

CEO of Nth Cycle, LLC

Boya Xiong

Assistant Professor of Department of Civil, Environmental and Geo-Engineering at University of Minnesota

Wenbo Shi

Riley Coulthard

Vittorio Albergamo

Eric Johnson

Nina Jankovic

(Jankovic CV)
Mollie Wilkinson

Alexis Frankson

Undergrad Alumni

Lane To
Juliet N Liao
Anna Mahony
Emma D'Ambro, Ph.D

Chemist, US EPA Office of Research and Development

Hannah M Spilman
Nick Hoffman
Lukas Glist

Carnegie Mellon University

Andrew Kurth, High School Research Assistant

Cornell University

Nathalie Thelemaque, MSRP

University of Florida

2019 MSRP Highlight Video
Priya A Moncrieffe
Kathleen R Bailey
Stacy Godfreey-Igwe